Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
    My Bike(s)
    1995 Yamaha Blaster

95 Yamaha Blaster idles but stalls when throttle is engaged

Hello everyone. This is my first post and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I'm a novice when it comes to engines so please bear with me.

I have a 1995 Yamaha Blaster that will start up and idle but everytime I touch the throttle - whether it be a little or a lot - the RPM's drop rapidly and it will stall. If I release the throttle before it stalls the RPM's will return to idle speed. Everything on it is stock.

It's got a new plug in it and after running it this way for a little while for troubleshooting the plug looks a nice tan/brown color which I think indicates a good air/fuel mixture? I've also had the carb apart and cleaned it as best as I could...soaked in carb cleaner - ran small wire through holes and blown w/air.

I'm not sure what the float setting is supposed to be but the flat part of the float is pretty much parallel with the bowl. If anyone knows what I'm supposed to set it to I'd appreciate hearing from you so I can make sure it's set correctly. I've got a new bowl gasket and new needle valve.

I've played with the idle and mixture screws and it doesn't seem to make any difference - same exact symptom. I've taken the reeds out and looked at them - they have no cracks and seem to be ok but like I said I'm a novice and I really don't know what they're supposed to look/feel like!

It's got new gas in it. I don't have a new air filter on it but I cleaned the existing one pretty thoroughly and doused it with oil. Also tried running it briefly without the filter which didn't seem to make a difference either.