Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
    Where Am I ?
    My Bike(s)
    '85 Nighthawk, '80 Yamaha 1100 Special

XS1100 rear brakes

I have a 1980 XS1100SG and am having a problem with the rear brake. Sometimes I'll be sitting at a light with my foot on the rear brake and all of a sudden the pedal will lose pressure and sink all the way down. If I let go and push it again, all is ok....for a while then the same thing will happen.

I've bled the rear brakes multiple times, still does the same thing. Still seems to be losing pressure. I'm no mechanic but if there is a leak in the system allowing air to get it wouldn't the brake fluid be leaking out the same place? I see no evidence of brake fluid leaking at all.

Thanks to all.

2. MotorcycleForums.net is the original Motorcycle Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

M-J Master Poster
    My Bike(s)
    Vulcan 2000
    Quote Originally Posted by wapam View Post
    I have a 1980 XS1100SG and am having a problem with the rear brake. Sometimes I'll be sitting at a light with my foot on the rear brake and all of a sudden the pedal will lose pressure and sink all the way down. If I let go and push it again, all is ok....for a while then the same thing will happen.

I've bled the rear brakes multiple times, still does the same thing. Still seems to be losing pressure. I'm no mechanic but if there is a leak in the system allowing air to get it wouldn't the brake fluid be leaking out the same place? I see no evidence of brake fluid leaking at all.

Thanks to all.