Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
    avf

Shadow Spirit 750 freeway handling

Hi Guys,
    Recently got the spirit Shadow 750 and rode it around 60miles on the freeway. One very concerning experience that the bike seems to be vague/washy on the freeway. By washy I mean it appears to me that it is not planted solid and the rear tyre may not be holding well and could slip. The bike is a 2006 with 4500 miles and still original tyres that has good tread on it. I checked the air pressure and it was 32 and reduced that to 29psi for single rider. Seemed to help a tad bit but did not give me a safe feeling. I have been riding for 20 years and I remember riding even smaller bikes did not give me this feeling.

One other funny thing I noticed is how the shadow seems to peak at about 70mph and I am really struggling and feel like I am really going fast but I see bikes zipping by at 85+(maybe with the riders so planted) I did ride it faster but it does not give me a feeling that it is got much oomph. Is it just me or other honda shadows 750 feel the same.

the bike has holesaw mod could that imply lower power and also I dont have a windscreen so the air is really blasting me...tough to rider faster20130118_155659.jpg

DO share your thoughts and observations

2. MotorcycleForums.net is the original Motorcycle Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Y2K
    No Significant Other
    My Bike(s)
    Electraglide Classic
    Well I don't know the specs for your bike or tire but 29 psi sounds low,I'd try more air not less.
    That said the stock tires are old and probably not a great tire to begin with.