Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
    Where Am I ?

Savage's Infamous Spark Plug

Hi everyone! I'm new to this Forum, live in Newfoundland and am the proud owner of a new 2003 LS650PK3 Suzi Savage (thanks to Cycle World in Toronto, Ontario)! I love everything about the Bike ... fits like a glove, has cool Harley-esque styling, enough power (for me anyways) ... but as an Engineering Technician, I find the design of the cylinder head, that places the spark plug in such an inaccessable place (directly under the fuel tank, which has to be removed for access and isn't an easy task) infuriating!! What the hell were Suzuki's design engineers thinking?? I'll bet neither of those guys owns a Savage! Since the Savage (both the 400 and 650cc versions) have been in Suzuki's line-up worldwide since the mid-80's, I'm surprised that they haven't engineered a solution to this problem? I've seen plenty of V-twins with the spark plug easily accessible at either the left or right side of each cylinder near the top ... I'm sure a single could be configured the same way? At the least, they could've made the fuel tank easier to get off (possibly a hinged arrangement that allows it to easily flip to the side without need for complete removal?).
    Anyway to get in touch with Suzuki's Engineering department to complain about this, the Savage's only shortcoming and possibly make a few suggestions?
    Thanks!
    Keep On Thumpin'!

2. MotorcycleForums.net is the original Motorcycle Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Site Admin & Squeegee Boy

My Bike(s)
    2003 Volusia SE
    Congrats on the bike.

Welcome to the site.