Motorcycle Forum banner

Another first bike thread: FZ8

4K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Easy Rider 
#1 ·
So here is my dilemma, I am almost 20 years old and am not new to the world of two wheeled transportation. I started riding dirt bikes at age 7, and racing at age 15. So my question is this; I hear many people advising against purchasing a larger bike for their first, which I understand and completely agree with. However I am torn over if I should ignore these warnings in my first purchase. I have raced big bikes (250s and 450s) and am quite confident with my abilities on a bike, however I have never put them to the test on the road. Essentially I don't know whether this really would be my "first bike" and if the advise on forums regarding buying a larger bike (FZ8 in this case) apply to my situation. Please ignore my ignorance, I'm just trying to make a wise decision.

#2 ·
mostly that advice is aimed at folks that just started riding or havent ever ridden.,

with that much dirt experience you shouldnt have a problem controlling a larger bike. but keep in mind the fz8 is has twice the power of a cr450. and it takes a while to get used to riding next to people that seem oblivious a bike is on the road with them.

i'd still advise you to take the msf course even if it isnt mandatory. the worst case senario is it counts as your driving portion (most states) and you get a discount on insurance.

#3 ·
Too much bike for a starter even with lots of dirt experience IMHO.
Dirt riding and road riding require many different skill sets apart from each other and the thing about road riding is you can get killed real quick if you make a mistake.
probably the most important thing you need to learn is survival skills, dealing with traffic, slick spots that can put you off, far greater speeds than you attain on a dirtbike most of the time etc.etc.