Motorcycle Forum banner
4K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  slozomby 
#1 ·
So I've been riding for about 2 years off and on, but now that I'm finally getting my license I have an ultimatum upon me. The bike I have been riding (my father's) has been offered to me me for $1700. It is a 1982 yamaha 750 maxim in pretty much mint condition. I love the bike, but I find myself starting to fall for triumphs street triple r. I just love the agility of it. I know there's a huge difference in price, but I figured with all the riders on here they could help me make a decision a little easier.

#5 ·
Thanks for the advice, the one thing the yamaha has besides memories and price is I've done my research and the model seems to be rated through the roof on reliability that is something I've always worried about on newer bikes (no offense to the triumph) going through the forums I've found many who have had their maxims for 60- 90k miles. I really am leaning towards the triumph, but like I said the price, memories, and reliability have me still second guessing.

#7 ·
I've always worried about on newer bikes (no offense to the triumph) going through the forums I've found many who have had their maxims for 60- 90k miles. I really am leaning towards the triumph, but like I said the price, memories, and reliability have me still second guessing.
Actually most newer bikes are a lot more reliable than the older bikes,60-90K is no longer outstanding.
I have over 175,000 miles on my 2000 Harley so far and counting.(If Spring ever gets here :???:)

#8 · (Edited)
2 years off and on is somewhat hard to gauge. does that mean 2k, 5k, 10k+ miles? the less miles you have under your belt the more i'll lean towards sticking to the bike you know. small cheap and used for the 1st bike is my mantra. altho the maxim is a 4cylinder which i dont recommend for learning. but since you've already got some miles on it without killing yourself...