Motorcycle Forum banner

05 Suzuki Gsx750f, Idling high help please

9K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  Aussie Steve 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm new to bikes, and just got my first one. I purchased a Used 05 gsx750f 10k miles and it was running fine when I first got it. 2 days later my father took it for a test ride, with realively close to no gas in the tank. He stalled, due to the low amount of gas in the tank as we believe. After that it now idles high, I waited a few hours for the tank to cool to add gas to the tank, and to no avail it is still idling high.

Basicly my first question is, do you think that the stalling because of no gas could cause this problem,
Secondly if so how do you correct it.

I've done some research on maybe adjusting the idling screw, or oiling the choke line. I currently don't have the tool at the moment to oil the choke line but I will try that tomorrow, but I'm not full certain where the idling screw is (as I stated new to bikes, and New bike.) I tried googling it and still haven't found the answer so I'm now turning here for help.

any input would be great.

#2 ·
the idle screw should be a large hand adjustable screw attached to the carbs.

if there is not a fuel filter( and sometimes even if there is) sediment from the tank could be causing something in the carbs to stick.
it may be hidden behind your fairings.

the 1st step i'd do is get a can of b12 chemtool or gumout carb cleaner and put a couple of oz in the gas tank. that should help sort any small debris. run it like that for a little and see if it helps it out. if not then adjust the idle screw.

#3 ·
Just checked these are carbed correct?...my guess would be as Slozomby suggested carb related....maybe the choke is sticking or a tiny bit of crap is holding something open. Do as suggested and after getting it circulated leave it overnight.

#4 ·