Hot hot hot :)
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hot hot hot :)

Clunked into first gear
    My Bike(s)
    2005 M50 Black

Hot hot hot :)

I am not too good with wiring. I can build anything, but wire it....no way. So, I moved my plate down to the side and tried to wire up 2 bolt lights off ebay. here is what I did:

Remove original plate light assembly
    cut off bulb
    ran original wires back through the fender to under the seat
    connected red to red and black to black on the LED bolts with a wire crimp connector
    connected one wire from original light to each side, red and black
    crimped it all down
    ensured NO bare wires at all, no crossing wires and so on

After I was done, I turned the bike on for a few minutes to adjust the throttle and one of the LED wires smoked off. It worked ok for a few minutes while I was testing it and when I was done, but then it gave up on me. It was cool, but not at the same time. It was very strange to see smoke billowing like that. I shut it off right away and there was obviously no harm to anything. So...what did I do wrong? Bad lights? Bad wiring (most likely)? I am positive 100% I did NOT cross wires or have any bare wires. I might be bad with electricity, but I'm not a complete idiot. Any help would be great. Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

My Bike(s)
    2008 Boulevard M50
    Do you know how much current the new lights are using? Do you know what gauge wire you used to wire them up? For example, 18 awg wire can handle no more than 7 amps of current. If you used very thin wire, you may have overheated the insulation.

Where Am I ?
    My Bike(s)
    SUZUKI 2006 M50 BLUE