GZ250 Clutch replaced, difficult or easy?
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

GZ250 Clutch replaced, difficult or easy?

The shifting on my '01 GZ250 is quite difficult plus it does not always disengage smoothly. The clutch cable seems to be adjusted correctly.

Am I looking at a clutch replacement? How difficult is that? I have some experience working on engines. (I just disassembled the carb on my Shadow 600 and cleaned out the jets and it even works better now). I do have the official shop manual for this 250 but in reading it it is the presumed the reader has more experience than I have. What special tool are required?

I figure this could be a good winter project. Any recommendations are appreciated.

Doug

2. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

Just Won't Go Away !
    My Bike(s)
    several
    While I have never done a clutch on a gz250, I have done dozens on other Japanese, British, and American bikes. It only takes about an hour or so, and if you are just changing the clutch plates, springs, and/ or throwout bearing you don't need any special tools.
    You MUST obey the pug dog!

Super Moderator

My Bike(s)
    Can-AM Spyder
    Quote Originally Posted by dougdftw View Post
    Am I looking at a clutch replacement?
    Maybe not. What you describe is the clutch dragging. That is not usually a symptom of a worn out clutch..........which is kind of the opposite, it slips.
    Don't believe everything that you think.

5. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

gz250 clutch?

Thanks for the input.