Buying a used bike?
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Where Am I ?

Buying a used bike?

As a beginner, I know alot of you recommend buying used first but I don't want to be scammed into purchasing something that isn't what it seems.

This article had alot of good tips but wanted to know if there are any specific indicators to be on the look out for?

2. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

Still crazy after all these years

My Bike(s)
    Blue Suzuki GSX 1400 (2003)
    Schliengen, Germany (47.754543, 7.631989)
    Old school common sense -- if the price seems "too good to be true," it is. A newer model bike (especially a race replica being offered for an unbeatable price is probably not what it seems. Look for classic warning signs that it may have been involved in a crash, then thrown back together (check the welds on the frame, look for signs that the forks, levers, pedals or plastics have been repaired or replaced, etc. If the seller refuses to let you have the bike inspected by a mechanic of YOUR choice (not his or her recommendation), then walk away. Quickly.

You should start with something small and used. Don't expect it to be in perfect shape (cosmetically). A dent or scratch won't cause your d--k to fall off. As long as it is mechanically sound - it starts easily, idles smoothly, rolls straight and stops when you hit the brakes, then it is a good beginner bike. Make sure the rubber is newer - no cracks, enough profile on the tread, etc. No leaks (oil, fluids, etc).