83 Suzuki gs450ga (suzukimatic) overheating problem and starting from idle problem
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

My Bike(s)
    83 Suzuki GS450GA

Unhappy 83 Suzuki gs450ga (suzukimatic) overheating problem and starting from idle problem

Hello all! If anyone has some suggestions that would be awesome.

Bought the bike as a commuter bike, I'm fairly new to cycling and wasn't looking for a project bike. Turns out I got a small project on my hands. :/

It runs awesome for the most part, except it seems to overheat when I take it up past 60 or so and hold it. If I hold the throttle down for a while it will run for a few miles, and then eventually start losing power on and off, shuttering (like its not getting fuel or air consistently). I pull off asap and let it cool down, and it runs fine again for a few miles back home. If I try to start it before it cools down, it won't go.

Its one other issue which might help debugging is that it very occasionally stalls from idling once I open the throttle to go. May be unrelated.

I'm in Denver, CO, so I may need to adjust the carbs, but haven't done so and am unaware if the prior owner has done so. I pulled the old spark plugs and they looked back from carbon and not oil, based solely on some pictures I've looked at online; I could very well be wrong. I'm not sure if the oil radiator is clogged, it gets hot but not as hot as the crankcase.

I've taken a good deal of the bike apart, cleaned the carbs, changed the oil, etc, and am still having problems. I'm no mechanic, but I've learned a lot in the past few days. (Yikes). Tips are very much appropriated from the pros.

2. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

Super Moderator

My Bike(s)