lane spliting
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: lane spliting

lane spliting

Recently I purchased a sv650. Since I am relatively new to the bike scene, I have been careful not to take the turns too fast or go between cars at any speed. However, there was a recent nascar event that forced me to decide between going 0-5 miles an hour, or 20ish between cars.
    Much to my luck, I was met by an unknown experienced rider. He took the lead and helped me through a hugh mess of traffic (to me anyway).
    There were three lessons I learned from him. One, the horn is not as effective as reving the engine, but when right next to a car it can be heard. Two, when in doubt, go really slow between cars who are barely moving. And three, if in the lead, tap your helmet to let the riders behind you know there is a cop ahead. Aside from being able to pass on what I learned, I would also like to take the time to thank every one on this board who has been aware, or just purely kind, to help other less experienced riders.

Thanks for everyone's advise, it does not fall on deaf ears.

2. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

Someone correct me if I'm wrong. But California state law says lane splitting is legal up to 10 mph between cars. If traffic is going between 10 and 1 mph you can only legally do 10 mph. Otherwise you stay in a lane above 10 mph.

Fox

Yeah I remember reading that it was legal in Cycleworld.

5. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements