2000 Triumph Trophy 900
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.

Welcome to the Motorcycle Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

2000 Triumph Trophy 900

Hope this I don't get banned. I just listed on another forum and banned me and all I was typing was about my bike. I bought this bike back in the spring. I am seeking any helpful info on this bike for any problems it tends to have or any maintenance tips. I did not get a owners manual when I bought it from the person and getting some info from a shop manual that came with it. I am also new to riding and took a safety course. So far I am happy with the bike. I do have a first question on this bike, when shifting up or down, do you need to use the clutch? I have done both and it seems that shifting with no clutch and rolling off the throttle makes a smooth shift. My instructor has mentioned in class about bikes doing this. I don't have the owners manual to see if there is any suggestions.

2. Remove Advertisements
    MotorcycleForums.net
    Advertisements

M-J Lifetime Achievement Award
    My Bike(s)
    sold
    Some say its OK others say not. I am in the latter group. A clutch is far easier and cheaper to replace than a gearbox/transmission. The alternative is a quick shift which momentarilly cuts the ignition thereby unloading the gears making it easier to shift. The manual way takes experience and if you mess it up will grind the gears...over a short time maybe no damage will occure but my view is why take the chance. As for maintenace tips either a specific forum/section or a downloaded manual.

ps nice bike Trumpies have a great rep now....not so much back in the 70s lol!...
    Last edited by Aussie Steve; 09-04-2019 at 10:53 PM.
    Smoke me a kipper I'll be home in time for breakfast

Super Moderator

My Bike(s)