Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Yamaha 650 V-Star Classic
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm New To This So I'm Not Sure What To Expect..
I Have A 2002 V-star Classic 650 And all Of A Sudden when I'm Stopped At An Intersection Or Even A Stop Sign I Can't Get My Bike To Move, I Give It Throttle And Slowly Release The Clutch Until The Clutch Is Fully Out And Still My Bike Won't Budge Even Though I'm Still Giving It Throttle, Then It Starts Shaking And Jumping Without Moving Forward (It's Kinda Scary).. Any Ideas What This Could Be? I Tightened My Clutch Cable Thinking That Was The Issue But I Still Have The Same Issue.. This Only Happens In First Gear

·
Registered
7,246 Posts
Are you sure it only happens in first gear? If you try to set off in second will it ride normally or does it do the same. If its the same then it sounds like your clutch is worn out or you used car oil with a friction modifier... in either case the clutch will need to be replaced.

Another possible issue could be the actuating mechanism being clogged up with dirt and debris causing a slipping juddering clutch but seems unlikely if it only happens in first. As first is the lowest gear it seems likely any weakness in the clutch would be more apparent in this gear.

If it only does it in first then it sounds like the gearbox needs attention....possibly the gear is stripped or it is failing to mesh properly. This is the worst case scenario as it will entail the entire engine being stripped down to access the gearbox....in which case it may be more sensible to get hold of another engine.

Another possibility is the chain and the sprockets are either worn out or there is so much slack in the chain it slips...although the latter would be easily seen and possibly lead to having to replace both the chain and sprockets.

Good luck

·
Super Moderator
13,784 Posts