Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I have some experience with carbs but every v star I work on kicks my ass that being said this is what I have for a set up

Intake is 100% stock
Exhaust system is vance and Hines
I pulled the carbs and checked and cleaned the jets and inspect the slides and needles Everything is clean and moving freely diaphragms are good both needles have five groves the clip is on the 3rd groove with a thin washer on top and bottom plus the thick plastic spacer below everything else front carb is 122 main 17.5 pilot
Rear carb is 120 main and 17.5 pilot
The bike will not idle without at least some choke and pops like a 380 randomly on the rear cylinder what am I missing? Fuel is clean 93 octane tank and filter are clean as well
I am in sulphur springs tx any local guys feel free to come help or call or text 2145161738

·
Registered
195 Posts
stock intake vance and hinds, mains should be 115, stock pilots 17.5 ok, the needle should be set at stock groove. your not increasing any more air into the motor so you don't need anymore fuel... with the pipes you will get a lean condition at full throttle so upping the mains one size is safe. i'm unsure if the 93 is the actual octane rating or something else. 87 octane is what is best.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's part of the problem the needles on this bike were already adjusted when I first started on it and don't know where stock setting is and haven't found a clear answer

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I am a bike mechanic so while there is many good things to know in that link I found nothing relevant to the problem at hand

·
Registered
195 Posts
i think the middle grouve is the factory setting. 93 octane is to much these bikes were designed to run on 87 your getting an incomplete burn.check what the pms screws are set at. go to the performance section and carb jetting everything you need is there

·