Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
New to the forum and am hoping someone has some advice to help me out with some mechanical difficulties I've been experiencing with my new (to me) bike. I am a complete newb when it comes to motorcycle maintenance and mechanics. I'm fairly mechanically inclined when it comes to autos and small engines, so assuming that experience is largely transferable.
Anyway, purchased the GS500 with 10k miles a few months back, and it has been sitting unused until this last week when I started using it as a daily commuter.
First thing I noticed was a "ticking" noise that didn't seem normal, but wasn't sure. When I investigated it a little further I found a couple youtube videos of people with the same complaint. One of which is here:
The second issue is that periodically the engine will rev at a pretty high (3-4k+ RPM) when I depress the clutch when coming to a stop. The problem seems to resolve itself when I shift back into gear, but it's somewhat concerning.
I've had a difficult time coming up with any clear, definitive solutions online except with some suspicion that I need to clean my jets and adjust my valves. Also left with the impression that it's fairly common to experience the forementioned issues when the bike has just been sitting around for some time. Should also note that I have no idea how long the bike was sitting in the prior owner's garage prior to me purchasing it.
Thanks

·
Super Moderator
12,251 Posts
Welcome.
ALL gas engines have "ticking" noises.
If you were sitting right on top of your car engine, you would hear them there too. ;)

I suspect that is normal but you probably need a bike mechanic to listen to it.
It does have the right amount of fresh oil.......right ??
It sounds like your idle speed is a bit too low.

The engine rev'ing can be a sign of a vacuum leak or a weak throttle return spring.