Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I've got a '74 Honda XL250 with super low mileage I picked up about 7 years ago. SO here's a brief history: thing's barely been ridden but not properly stored, bring it to my guy and he de-rusts the tank, puts new ignition switch on, new battery, etc. I ride it about a year then lose my keys... bike sits for year and a half, finally got a replacement key and it won't start. I get a new spark plug, drain/clean the carb, stick new gas in the tank and kick over until my foot is sprained... I can get it started but it idles very rough and won't stay started... It sounds like there may be a clog somewhere in the fuel lines, but I'm not an expert. Any way to troubleshoot and narrow down the problem? Thanks!

·
Registered
6,783 Posts
Fuel system cleaner is the simple answer...most likely the idle circuit jets will be clogged...esp if fuel with E10 was left in it. Get it running dump double the recommended dose in the fuel and allow it to flow through the carb then leave it overnight at least. Also with this being a 43 year old bike the fuel lines may need replacing...as will a lot of other rubber bits.

Good luck

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's a great idea, the only problem is I can't keep it running long enough for the fuel to circulate... it's like the lines are so clogged they can't deliver enough fuel to keep the engine running (I think). Is there anything else that would cause it to stall so quickly? Obviously I'd like to avoid changing the lines if they don't need to be changed...

·
Super Moderator
12,342 Posts
Chances are that it is running WAY lean so adding a little extra "choke" action might help it run long enough to warm up a bit and get some gas circulating.