Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!!! I have been reading this forum now for hours trying to find the best answer for my problem. Here we go..... I bought my bike (2006 M50 with 7500mi.) two weeks ago, I got it of a older gentleman that took what seems to be very good care of it....not a scratch on it and runs like a top! Now that i have a couple weeks of riding into it (about 700 mi) i hear a knock of maybe a ticking noise from the engine. when its cold it is alot more noticeable...and it happens on a slight acceleration in any gear. after riding for maybe a half an hour it seems to drop by 50% but i can still notice it. any help/ideas would be greatly appreciated!!! thanks again!!!!

·
Registered
177 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but you're probably noticing your valve noise. Our lifters aren't hydrolic so they need adjusted but there should be some tapping sound. If you can't hear anything they are probably too tight and that's bad news. Once the engine warms it should have a sewing machine type noise. What you're hearing is probably normal, but if you take it to a mechanic they will likely listen to it for free and let you know.

·
Super Moderator
12,831 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but you're probably noticing your valve noise.
:plus1:
.......on all of that.

Find out when the valves were last adjusted.....if ever.
If it's never been done, GET 'R DONE.

How many miles on the oil......and what kind is it ??
Sometimes extra noise from the engine can mean it's time for an oil change.

But don't be overly concerned about it. One notices engine noises on a bike a lot more than a cage.
Just open the hood of your car when the engine is running !!! :shock:

·
Registered
2 Posts