Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello:
I am new to biking, just completed MSF course and got my M1. For a starter bike I have narrowed down to the 2 bikes which are currently available in my town. Both have very low miles (Shadow has 1600mi; V-Star 800 mi). Shadow owner asking $5200 but I should be able to get it for $4500. V-Star asking $4500 and I should be able to get it for $4000. Test rode both and they are in exc condition. Which one would you recommend?

·
Registered
5,197 Posts
Both are good bikes, but if you do not have a preference in the styling I'd go with the Shadow. Excellent first bike, mild mannered and easy to ride. Excellent handling too. It is famous for reliability, and it has more power and is physically a bit bigger than the V-Star, so it will take longer for you to outgrow it and become bored.

·
Registered
5,197 Posts
Yeah, you have to remove the exhaust to change the oil filter on a V-Star 650, so there is an extra labor charge if you pay someone to change the oil. An aftermarket oil filter relocation kit solves this, though personally I don't think it is worth the $270 for the kit if you do your own service, as you can pull the exhaust head pipe in the time it takes for the oil to fully drain. So an extra few minutes every 3000 miles is no big deal, especially as most people get bored with this diminutive model in a year or two, so they are only going to do one or two oil changes before trading it on something larger anyways.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for your suggestions folks! I will narrow down my choice to Shadow. One more question.....for a 2008 bike with < 2000 mi (w/ floor boards, saddle bags, windshield, light bar) what is a reasonable price? NADA (VT750C2F8) $3720-4895. KBB $4655 (excl cond). Mainly want to know where to set upper limit.

·
Registered
5,197 Posts