Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey yall, Ive been riding scooters for about 5 yrs and am looking for something bigger. Looking for more of a cruiser style bike, not sporty and not a big café racer or bobber fan. I love the look and feel of Shadows, but will likely be buying from city auction and wont be able to sit on it first. The plan is if Im not comfortable with the bike to flip it and try again. Not set on shadows bc I want a good beginner bike, once Im more confidant I can always upgrade. Im on the smaller side, 5’7 125 lbs, and looking for more opinions from riders. Anyone had a shadow as their first bike? Thoughts? Feel free to throw around year for reference, but generally are they top heavy? Lightweight or not so much? I want a low center of gravity and enough weight that I don’t get blown around the highway but not so much that I cant get her up if (when) I drop it. Also looking at Yamaha Bolts and Indian Scouts, have eliminated Harley Sportster (for now..) Thanks in advice!

·
Super Moderator
12,907 Posts
I love the look and feel of Shadows, but will likely be buying from city auction and wont be able to sit on it first. The plan is if Im not comfortable with the bike to flip it and try again.
That could turn out to be a big mistake. Costly and time consuming. But that is your choice.

I think a Shadow is a good first bike for most people but it is a bit under powered and I personally don't care for the handling.

My all time favorite ride is the Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom.
Suzuki M50 is popular too.
Yamaha has a good 950.

·
Registered
2 Posts
That could turn out to be a big mistake. Costly and time consuming. But that is your choice.

I think a Shadow is a good first bike for most people but it is a bit under powered and I personally don't care for the handling.

My all time favorite ride is the Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom.
Suzuki M50 is popular too.
Yamaha has a good 950.