Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Uploaded a horrible quality picture here:

IMG00594-20110907-0923 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

The finish looks nasty. I tested steel wool on the underside, but it did not seem to help after about 10-15 seconds or so. Is there a better way to shine this up? I am new to restoring and don't know what products or methods are best.

Attachments

·
Registered
13,238 Posts
there was some kind of blue polish I used, going to have to dig for it to find the name.

You will find some kind of polishing ball and a rechargeable drill with a polish will get better results.

I mention rechargeable drill, because a standard plug in drill will spin too fast and the polish will go flying off of the buffing wheel.

·
Super Moderator
12,830 Posts
I am new to restoring and don't know what products or methods are best.
I'm surprised that nobody else has replied; must all be out riding.

In my experience, you're better off to just scrape off any actual corrosion with 000 steel wool and then keep it polished to stop further deterioration BECAUSE..........to get it real shiny and clean will take a CRAP LOAD of labor......and then you have to seal it again or it will get nasty all over again real fast.

I have seen and talked to "non-professional" riders who have restored one bike and don't remember ever finding one who thinks he would do it a second time.

Your time can be spent MUCH better doing something else.......like riding......or working extra hours (if you can) to trade for a bike that is already shiny.

·
Registered
539 Posts

·
Cookie Monstress.
5,192 Posts
it is a horrible picture... :).. but it almost looks like there was a clear coat over the metal? If so you might try to remove that chemically.. search "clear coat remover". If it is really chrome, it was a bad chrome job...lol... but simichrome mentioned before sounds like a good bet...and a lotta labor as mentioned already.