Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently completed my MSF safety class and now have my license. My experience on motorcycles consists of a) a bunch of times spent on dirt bikes (mostly 250s) off-road and b) a couple rides on my roommate's Ninja 600 around the neighborhood. These were all a number of years ago. Looking to the future, I eventually see myself on something like a Yamaha XSR700 and/or a Triumph Trident 660 or MT-07 (...also currently drooling over the Indian FTR but that's years down the road).

As a novice, I know my first choice should be a smaller bike but there aren't a ton of options that appear to fit the style of riding I'm looking for... my goal is to ride for pleasure on long, curvy (and hopefully empty) rural roads but to also be able to commute, likely at or close to highway speeds about once a week. I thought the Kawasaki Z400 would be perfect but the available inventory is sparse. I'm worried the 300s (MT-03, BMW G310R) might not be able to get me up to speed once I'm comfortable going on a highway. So I started to notice that the supermoto models like the Suzuki DR-Z400 might strike a nice balance. Is that style of bike something I should consider at all? Or are those supermoto bikes just tuned so differently that I'd be building my skills on something so foreign from what I hope to eventually ride that I'd be wasting my time? I'm also considering renting a few different bikes via Riders-Share.com to try some out before making a purchase.

Full disclosure, I know the topic of first bike choice is super contentious so I'm just gathering opinions here... so have at it!

·
Super Moderator
13,783 Posts
Full disclosure, I know the topic of first bike choice is super contentious so I'm just gathering opinions here... so have at it!
No, the subject is not really "contentious" at all.