Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi there. New to the forum, and hope to pick your collective knowledge!

I am new to the cruiser world, as dual sport rides are starting to hurt. The trails around here are basically mud ruts, and that is starting to get old.

Anyway, I am 240 lbs and my wife is at 165 lbs (or 100 lbs if she sees this!) We are looking at cruising secondary roads and are more interested in slower cruising as compared to high-speed slab runs. I don't need super amounts of power, but I don't want the engine to feel like its struggling, and I would like some power on tap for passing, etc. Also, we don't want to tax the suspension too much. We are both losing weight, but I need to consider the situation at the present time.

Oh, and she insists it is a bike with a back rest, as she doesn't like having to hold on tightly the entire time.

As this is my first dip into the cruiser pool, I am interested in picking up an older machine in about the 3 to 4 thousand range. We will look for something newer if we decide the cruising life is for us. Maybe it is a touring bike I am looking for. I guess the touring bikes would have all the bags like a Goldwing? Maybe that is the way to go.

Any suggestions in terms of engine size or bike model? Any wisdom is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
13,153 Posts
Welcome. I think your budget is a bit low for a 2-up capable bike in good condition.

You didn't mention your age.
If there is any hint that holding a bike up while not moving might be a problem in the near future, it might be time to look into trikes and Spyders. But your budget is WAY low for them.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You didn't mention your age.
Thanks for the reply, Easy Rider.