Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The shifting on my '01 GZ250 is quite difficult plus it does not always disengage smoothly. The clutch cable seems to be adjusted correctly.

Am I looking at a clutch replacement? How difficult is that? I have some experience working on engines. (I just disassembled the carb on my Shadow 600 and cleaned out the jets and it even works better now). I do have the official shop manual for this 250 but in reading it it is the presumed the reader has more experience than I have. What special tool are required?

I figure this could be a good winter project. Any recommendations are appreciated.

Doug :scooter:

·
Registered
5,197 Posts
While I have never done a clutch on a gz250, I have done dozens on other Japanese, British, and American bikes. It only takes about an hour or so, and if you are just changing the clutch plates, springs, and/ or throwout bearing you don't need any special tools.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
gz250 clutch?

Thanks for the input.

I checked more carefully and find that the shifting is always difficult. This is really my major complaint. I also have a VTX600 and that shifts with a much easier action. There have been times when the 250 would not go into first unless I first let out the clutch in neutral and roll the bike 6 inches or a foot.

The other issue is not one of clutch slippage but rather one of a bit of a clunk - usually when first engaging mostly first gear but I have also heard it in other gears. Almost like something isn't firmly attached to it's shaft when it should be. It doesn't always happen - maybe one out of 10 times of releasing the clutch. The other 9 times the clutch engages very smoothly.

There is also bit of extra noise from the transmission. Sort of a constant chugging or grinding sound - even when sitting at idle in neutral.