Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 253 Posts

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lately there have been some threads about drilling holes in exhaust pipes (and other ways of making bikes louder.) For the most part, drilling holes in an exhaust only makes a bike louder – it doesn’t make a bike faster or perform any better. And loud bikes are one of the chief reasons many towns and cities place restrictions on motorcycles. I like riding too much and get upset when my bike and I are not welcome in a town or city - all because of some jerk with a loud bike.

I have been riding for over 40 years….owned just about every type of bike you can think of... been across the country several times. I can also remember a time when the local police across the country automatically thought I was a criminal simply because I arrived on a bike.

It seems to me that guys with loud pipes are simply compensating for a short something or other. They should just get over their feelings of inadequacy because it just makes it more difficult for the rest of us.

· Registered
853 Posts
I'll stick with the ones on my M50, think they look great and sound great! I had a harley with straight pipes pull up next to me and about blow my ear drums out! I don't see how anyone thinks that sounds good! Loud pipes due nothing to enhance safety of bikes either.

· Registered
29 Posts
Fishpart said:
Loud pipes due nothing to enhance safety of bikes either.
I beg to differ on this point. On many occasions I've been able to notify a car that I am next to them by blipping my throttle. When you're in a car with all the windows rolled up, on the cell phone or with the radio blasting, there's little chance you'll notice the sound of a stock pipe. I would have been run into a few times if not for my loud pipes.

· Registered
646 Posts
I don't think loud pipes are any more annoying than the shrill whine of a sport bike. BTW, both our bikes (cruisers) have stock pipes.

· Registered
663 Posts