Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hey there, new member here :)

I am thinking of buying a marauder vz 800 but, as a new rider, would very much appreciate the opinion on the particular bike i want to get, some basic tips etc. :)

Hope to join the ranks of Suzuki 800 owners soon!

Now to the question - could you please give me your opinion on this 2002 VZ 800? I want to get a cruiser and came to really like the marauder 800. A guy in my town is selling one for a decent price and says that the bike is in good condition. I went to see it and liked it a lot - it was actually even better than I expected. However, I am a motorcycle noob so in any case I will have to get a bike mechanic to check the bike for me on the spot. But before that, i would like to have some opinion on it. At least opinion you can get from the pictures :)

It should have about 12K miles on it. The bike looks nice, I just don't know what the yellow thing on the side of that engine pipe is - do you have any idea what it could be? I don't think it is from a drop. Is it a (potential) problem other than that it looks bad? Is there a way to fix it (or replace the part for a reasonable price)?

Please check the pictures - 4 of them are new (when i checked the bike last week), one is 10 years old, when the current owner bought the bike from Germany (where it had 1 owner).

And do you have any general tips what too be cautios of on these bikes, engines etc.?

https://i.servimg.com/u/f94/20/09/20/12/vz800_10.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f94/20/09/20/12/vz800_11.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f94/20/09/20/12/vz_80010.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f94/20/09/20/12/vz800_12.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f94/20/09/20/12/vz800_13.jpg

Thank you very much,

Lukas

·
Super Moderator
12,163 Posts
Welcome.
IF.....you can flat-foot that bike at a standstill, it should be a reasonable first bike.