Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Motorcycles, Life & Advice by Capt. Crash

Ever get bad advice? The “why did I listen to that guy” kind of bad advice? WAIT—don’t answer that. Let’s talk about good advice. Has someone ever given advice and you carried it around with you and one day, suddenly, it pays off? Remember, advice isn’t always that Shakespearian “to thine own self be true” stuff. Advice can be very focused and to the point. You’ll get lots of motorcycle advice like: “always put your kickstand down when you fill up” or “keep your cellphone in your jacket so if you get separated from your bike it’s with you”. Advice is easy to come by—and you never know when it’s gonna come in handy.

I work as a freelance camera operator at large, multiple camera sporting events. A couple of times a year I get to do rodeo. Rodeo is fun because I keep a few cows, a bull, and a couple of horses and it’s fun to hang out with cowboys and act all ‘rancher’. One thing I’ve noticed about cowboys is that they are a religious bunch. You wouldn’t believe how many of them are back there behind the chutes praying right before they get on rough stock (Bareback/SaddleBronc/Bullriding). I know because I usually stand on the back side of the chutes with them and get those shots where they strap in and then the gate flings open and all hell breaks loose.

Bullfighters intrigue me also. They’ll get right in there with those big ole bulls and smack them around and distract them so cowboys can get away. Its nuts—until you talk to them and you find out they are truly professionals. They know what they’re doing, it’s not just a dive in there and hope the bull doesn’t kill you enterprise, they have a craft and they hone their craft.