Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats going on everyone. Wanted to stop in and introduce myself.

I am kind of new to riding, previously I had owned a Honda XR400rr which I rode mostly off road. Totaled it out on a big down hill run then didn't ride for a while after that. :crippled:
Here recently I went through the MSF course here in Texas and got my Class M license. Now I am stuck on what bike to get. I have been riding a Yamaha V-Star 1100 but that thing scares the crap out of me. I cant tell if it is to much bike for me right now or im just being a little b*t** and need to keep riding it. Its a free bike that a family friend has, he never rides anymore so he told me I could take it out any time I wanted. I have the keys and everything, but have found my self hesitant to get on it. Any advise would be appreciated.

Im am positive I want a cruiser, being 6'3 and 200+lbs, I dont fit well on sport bikes. I am on a limited budget of no more than 3k.

Thats a little about me. I will post a picture of the bike I am currently (struggling) riding.

·
Registered
677 Posts
:welcomes:
That's a nice bike. Maybe something a little smaller would be better for you. The C50/M50 kind of size has been pretty good to me. I'm 6' 1" and fit pretty good on my M. I bet I would be even more comfortable on a C50 with floor boards and everything. Something in the 750-900cc range would be a good choice. If you really like the 1100, Yamaha makes a Vstar 950 that is a little bit smaller. That is a very nice looking ride, just a little expensive and probably out of the 3k budget. All else I can say is try doing some parking lot practice, and maybe that will help you get over the big bike fear. Learning to manage all that weight just takes a little time. Good luck and ride safe!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome from Texas. Where in Texas are you?
South Austin, near Buda.

:welcomes: