Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here. I just bought an 800 S50. It has a sissy bar that I want to remove but it looks like there is a lot of stuff that I will have to take off to do so. Is there an easy way for me to do this on my own?

Also, I was given 2 keys. The one for the gas tank and ignition I know. But, there is a smaller one that I cannot find what it goes to. I have looked all over the bike and nothing. Can someone tell me what this is?

Thank you in advance!

·
Super Moderator
12,597 Posts
Removing the seat on an S50 is a huge pain in the butt.
HUGE.

It is a little easier to see what is going on if you remove the small side covers first.......but they are designed to be removed AFTER the seat is.
I had an S50 for a couple of years. Most frustrating bike I've ever owned......and there have been a LOT of them.

Visiting a dealer or independent shop might be your best bet for both questions.
The second key may be for a lock that is no longer present.......like a helmet lock.
You really should get a spare ignition key ASAP because the cost is great if you lose the last one.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, Easy Rider for your reply. I was thinking I may end up having a professional do this for me. And yes, I was planning on getting another key made. I have been in the position of losing one in the past and having to get a locksmith involved. Expensive mistake. 😁

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hello, newbie here. I just bought an 800 S50. It has a sissy bar that I want to remove but it looks like there is a lot of stuff that I will have to take off to do so. Is there an easy way for me to do this on my own?

Also, I was given 2 keys. The one for the gas tank and ignition I know. But, there is a smaller one that I cannot find what it goes to. I have looked all over the bike and nothing. Can someone tell me what this is?

Thank you in advance!
It might be for the helmet lock.

·