Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've noticed a bit of a problem with my new S40.

I shift all the way down, say, at a stop light. Instead of hitting first, the green neutral light comes on, and it won't let me shift out of neutral.

I'll sit there stomping on the damn thing, trying to get it out of neutral and into first. Eventually I'll give it a kick back up into 2nd, and that won't work quite right either.

Somehow - I haven't quite figured out what the voodoo is that gets it to work properly - I've managed to get it back into gear each time. It's a little nerve wracking, though. Traffic all around and I'm stuck in neutral.

Any ideas why it's doing that... and more to the point, how to get it to stop?

·
Registered
7 Posts
are you trying to shift into first while you're still moving? if not then try that. I went throught the same thing when I started riding (stopping before I tried to shift down) so I can feel your pain. it makes you feel like an a$$ with everyone watching.

·
Registered
849 Posts
It happens to me too, and I think it applies to all bikes. Just roll forward a bit and engage 1st while ur pushing along with ur feet, always works for me.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Pushing the bike forward a few inches and then retrying to go for first should do the trick. Also, sometimes just engaging and disengaging the clutch a time or two will allow it to go into first. I think all of these bikes do this...it is nothing to worry about.

·
Premium Member
20,860 Posts
These are good tips. Most new bikes have trannies that stick a bit. Let it break in, then switch to Mobil 1. She'll shift like butter.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I want to start by saying thanks for the advice. It's exactly the correct advice for the situation. How am I so sure of that?

... I rode 50 miles tonight and figured it out on my own. I just got back. :D