Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Beloved forum members, you have proven to be incredibly valuable to me before. I am still a noob, but put a few hundred miles on my new-to-me 2005 S40 in the past few weeks. So now I invested in a windshield..great. And I want saddlebags. I contacted Viking bags because I like the look of their slanted bags, the price appears right, reviews are ok, and they come with mounting hardware which I apparently need. So far, so good. And then I find out that I need to move the turn signals to the license plate thingi. (Or my mechanically inclined husband will have to.) Does anyone know whether this is a major undertaking? Do I need to string cables or some such? If it is a pain in the rear, I will just continue lugging all my crap in a backpack. Many, many thanks!

·
Registered
677 Posts
I would just look for different bags. The options for saddle bags are nearly limitless, you could find some that don't require any relocation of turn signals. They will likely be smaller than the Viking bags, but could save you the trouble of making modifications.

I found some really cheap bags for my m50, only cost me 50 bucks. Then I found a universal saddle bag support kit for like 20 or 30 bucks. Works great for me, but I still use a backpack when I have big items to carry around. Just strap it to the luggage rack and go.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Uhm...luggage rack? But I guess you're right. I looked at the original suzuki bags, but I do not like the shape. I will just keep looking, I guess...

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have the baby boulevard...there is no luggage rack. No passenger back rest. No trip meter. No tachometer. No fuel gauge. You get the picture. I consider myself lucky that I have two wheels....

·
Registered
677 Posts
Well the backrest is aftermarket. It's not from the factory, just came with the bike when I bought it though.