Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my problem is I just bought this bike and the gas tank was not connected. There were 2 lines coming off the petcot and there wasd one coming from the otherside of the tank along with 2 wires. There are lines coming off the carb but seem not to have a place. I ran the fuel lines where i thought they went and the bike started but it started pouring fuel out from a line that came from the carb.

If anyone has any drawings or help that would be great. The manuals dont seem to help for what i need. I have looked at manuals and the pics they have do not show me. the bike is an 1983.
thanks........

I am a little new with the bikes........

·
Premium Member
20,860 Posts
Welcome, Kevin. Typically the smaller petcock line is a vacuum control line that connects to the carb. The one on the other side is probably a breather that doesn't connect, but just routes down along the frame.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thank you so much for your help. Do you happen to know why fuel started coming out the line from the bottom of the carb after the bike stalled??????..
Thanks again....

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i forgot, on the other side of the tank is 2 wires and another line. is that a line that just runs down the frame as well or does that connect to something?

·
Premium Member
20,860 Posts
The one on the far side (the right side) is the one I thought was the breather. The two on the petcock. should both connect to the carb. We have a couple guys here that know this stuff better than I do. Hopefully they can confirm or correct what I've said.

Please fill out your profile.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6