Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
When I stop my 2001 intruder 800 with 10,000 miles, and try to put it in first it's very difficult and sometimes bangs the gears. To me it seems the clutch is not pushing out far enough. Any Ideas! I'm new to Motercycles.

·
Super Moderator
12,688 Posts
Yes you may have too much play in the clutch cable.

BUT.....the first time you put it into gear after starting it will almost ALWAYS "bang".
All metric bikes are that way and there is no "fix".
After it warms up, the shift from N to 1 should be less noisy.

THEN.....unless you KNOW that you will be stopped for a long time, it is best to get into the habit of shifting into first just before coming to a complete stop and keep the clutch pulled in.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for your reply. I bleed the clutch master cylinder and it helped some. But I didnt know the info yo gave about a metric bike.

·
Registered
6,866 Posts
You may also find an oil change might help...bikes share the engine oil with the gearbox in almost all cases.

·
Super Moderator
12,688 Posts
Thank you for your reply. I bleed the clutch master cylinder and it helped some. But I didnt know the info yo gave about a metric bike.
OK, so now I'm confused.
The link to a manual that somebody posted seems to indicate that the clutch is CABLE operated.
Maybe that manual is for a different model ??

·
Registered
32 Posts
Yes you may have too much play in the clutch cable.

BUT.....the first time you put it into gear after starting it will almost ALWAYS "bang".
All metric bikes are that way and there is no "fix".
After it warms up, the shift from N to 1 should be less noisy.

THEN.....unless you KNOW that you will be stopped for a long time, it is best to get into the habit of shifting into first just before coming to a complete stop and keep the clutch pulled in.